It's On the Internet

A Comprehensive List of Free, Educational Web Sites
All Sites Active As Of January 1, 2008
by Caroline Nickel

Title

URL

ART/MUSIC

 
Resources for Music Educators and Musicians http://www.teachercertification.org/teach/resources-for-musician-and-music-teachers/
Architectural Studio 3D http://www.architectstudio3d.org/AS3d/index.html
Artcyclopedia http://www.artcyclopedia.com/
Art Safari http://www.moma.org/momalearning/artsafari/
Artsedge http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/
Cave of Lascaux http://www.culture.gouv.fr/culture/arcnat/lascaux/en/
Edsitement, National Endowment for the Humanities http://edsitement.neh.gov
Exploring Leonardo http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/
Eyes on Art http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/art2/
Hirshhorn Museum & Sculpture Garden http://hirshhorn.si.edu
Jazz in America http://www.jazzinamerica.org/home.asp
Lifetime of Color http://www.alifetimeofcolor.com
Louvre http://www.louvre.fr/llv/commun/home_flash.jsp
Making a Rainstick (K-4) http://artsedge.kennedy-center.org/content/2391/
Metropolitan Museum of Art http://www.metmuseum.org/home.asp
Music Resources on the Net http://www.skdesigns.com/internet/music/
New York Philharmonic for Kids http://www.nyphilkids.org/main.phtml
Science of Music http://www.exploratorium.edu/music/index.html
SmartKids – Art Appreciation http://smartmuseum.uchicago.edu/smartkids/index.html

GENERAL/ MISCELLANEOUS

 
Early Childhood Education- Preschool-Grade 2 http://www.edupuppy.com
Educator’s Reference Desk http://www.eduref.org/Virtual/Lessons/index.shtml
Enchanted Learning – Although this is a subscription site, many resources there are still free. http://www.enchantedlearning.com/Home.html
Library of Congress: American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/browse/
Marcopolo Internet Content for the Classroom  http://www.marcopolo-education.org/
Public Broadcasting Station (PBS) http://www.pbs.org/

HEALTH

 
Coordinated Approach to Child Health http://www.sph.uth.tmc.edu/catch/
Dole Nutrition Program http://www.dole5aday.com/
Health http://www.nytimes.com/learning/teachers/lessons/
health.html
Health & Fitness - PBS http://www.pbs.org/teachersource/health.htm
Health & Nutrition Lesson Plans http://www.theteacherscorner.net/lesson-
plans/health/index.htm
Health & Physical Education – Blue Web‘n http://www.kn.sbc.com/wired/bluewebn/
contentarea.cfm?cid=7
Health Lesson Idea Menu http://www.pecentral.org/lessonideas/
health/healthlp.asp
Health Lesson Plans http://school.discovery.com/lessonplans/health.html
Health Lesson Plans http://www.eduref.org/cgi-bin/lessons.cgi/Health
Health, Nutrition, P.E., & Sexuality Ed. (scroll down to see links) http://www.cloudnet.com/~edrbsass/edpe.htm
Healthy Teeth www.healthyteeth.org
IWeb Health Lesson Plans http://www.indiana.edu/~iweb/lesson/health/
pre-kind/index.html
KidsHealth http://kidshealth.org
Learn to Be Healthy (Gr K-6) http://www.LearntobeHealthy.org
Medical Mystery http://medmyst.rice.edu
Nutrition http://www.dole5aday.com/Teachers/T_Home.jsp
Phys Ed & Health Lesson Plans http://www.lessonplanspage.com/PE.htm

INTERNET

 
Cyber Bee - Internet Research http://www.infotoday.com/MMSchools/sep01/
cybe0109.htm
CyberSmart - Internet Safety K-8 http://www.cybersmart.org/home/

LANGUAGE ARTS

 
Biography http://www.biography.com
BookPALS http://www.storylineonline.net/
Chaucer Metapage http://www.unc.edu/depts/chaucer/index.html
Crucible http://www.sdcoe.k12.ca.us/score/cruc/cructg.html
Cyber Newseum (Journalism) http://www.newseum.org/
Digital Storytelling http://www.coe.uh.edu/digital-storytelling/
Digital Storytelling http://www.storycenter.org/memvoice/pages/
cookbook.html
Edsitement, National Endowment for the Humanities http://edsitement.neh.gov
Ellis Island http://www.ellisisland.org/
Hamlet on the Ramparts http://shea.mit.edu/ramparts/welcome.htm
HamletWorks http://www.hamletworks.org
International Children's Library http://www.icdlbooks.org/
Introducing the Essay (9-12) http://edsitement.neh.gov/view_lesson_plan.asp?id=598
Jan Brett's Home Page http://www.janbrett.com/
Knowing Poe  http://knowingpoe.thinkport.org/default_flash.asp
Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov
Library of Congress: American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/
National Council of Teachers of English http://www.ncte.org/
Poetry 180 http://www.loc.gov/poetry/180/
Poetry Annotation and Technology http://www.readwritethink.org/lessons/
lesson_view.asp?id=36
Project Gutenberg: eBooks http://www.gutenberg.org/
Read “Between the Lions” http://pbskids.org/lions/
ReadWriteThink  http://www.readwritethink.org/
Shakespeare http://www.umpi.maine.edu/~ricer/shakespeare/
shhp.htm
Shakespeare & the Renaissance http://internetshakespeare.uvic.ca/Annex/links/index.html
Shakespeare’s Stories http://bestoflegends.org/shakespeare/index.html
Starfall: Learn to Read http://www.starfall.com/
Treasures At Sea http://www.fi.edu/fellows/fellow8/dec98/main.html
Turning the Pages http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/ttp/ttpbooks.html

MATH

 
A+ Math http://www.aplusmath.com/
Bathtub Water Levels (9-12) http://illuminations.nctm.org/LessonDetail.aspx?ID=L388
Cyberchase Online Games http://pbskids.org/cyberchase/games.html
Illuminations http://illuminations.nctm.org/
Math - PBS http://www.pbs.org/teachersource/math.htm
Math Archives http://archives.math.utk.edu/k12.html
Math.com http://www.math.com
Math Forum http://www.mathforum.org/te/index.html
Math Ideas http://www.ilovethatteachingidea.com/ideas/
subj_math.htm
MathsIsFun www.mathsisfun.com
Math Problems with a Point http://www2.edc.org/MathProblems/
Math Worksheets http://themathworksheetsite.com/
Spreadsheet Activities http://www.suelebeau.com/spreadsheets.htm
Virtual Manipulatives http://nlvm.usu.edu/en/nav/topic_t_1.html
Water, Water (3-5) http://illuminations.nctm.org/LessonDetail.aspx?ID=L289
Word Problems for Kids http://www.stfx.ca/special/mathproblems/welcome.html

NEWS

 
Christian Science Monitor http://www.csmonitor.com/
CNN Student News http://cnnstudentnews.cnn.com/fyi/
New York Times Learning http://www.nytimes.com/learning/index.html
PBS NewsHour Extra http://www.pbs.org/newshour/extra
Time for Kids http://www.timeforkids.com/TFK/

SCIENCE

 
3D Science http://www.3dscience.com
Amazing Picture Machine http://www.ncrtec.org/picture.htm
American Museum of Natural Science Presents Ology http://www.amnh.org/ology/
Biology in Motion http://biologyinmotion.com
Biology Place http://www.phschool.com/science/biology_place/
index.html
Biology Research Overview http://www.nsf.gov/news/overviews/biology/index.jsp
Biomes http://mbgnet.mobot.org/
BioScience http://www.bioscience.org
Brain Power www.drugabuse.gov/JSP/JSP.html
Bright Idea Field Trip www.aahom.org/classes/ft_s_brightidea.htm
Bucket Buddies – Pond Life http://www.k12science.org/curriculum/bucketproj/
Butterflies of North America http://www.butterfliesandmoths.org/
Cells Alive http://www.cellsalive.com
Cycles of the Earth & Atmosphere http://www.ucar.edu/learn/
Descartes’ Diver www.exploratorium.edu/snacks/descartes_diver.html
Dive & Discover http://www.divediscover.whoi.edu
Earthquakes http://earthquake.usgs.gov
EcoHealth http://www.ecohealth101.org
Excellence in Science http://nsdl.org/
Explore Mars Now http://www.exploremarsnow.org
Exploring Leonardo http://www.mos.org/sln/Leonardo/
Field Museum’s Expeditions http://www.fieldmuseum.org/expeditions/
interactive_main_content.html
Functions & Values of Wetlands (6-8) http://www.epa.gov/owow/wetlands/pdf/fun_val.pdf
Fun Science Gallery http://www.funsci.com/texts/index_en.htm
Global Climate Change http://www.exploratorium.edu/climate/index.html
High School Environmental Center  http://www.epa.gov/highschool
Inquiry Strategies for Science & Mathematics Learning www.nwrel.org/msec/images/resources/
justgood/05.97.pdf
Introduction to Waves (K-2) http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/
lessons/07/gk2/wavesintro.html
Life Along the Faultline http://www.exploratorium.edu/faultline/index.html
Lionfish http://oceanservice.noaa.gov/education/stories
/lionfish/welcome.html
MadSci Network www.madsci.org
Magnetic Storm http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/magnetic/
Mariners' Museum http://www.mariner.org//educationalad/ageofex/
Mars Rovers http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/nova/mars/
Memory Experiments http://faculty.washington.edu/chudler/chmemory.html 
Models of the Water Cycles (6-8) http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/Lessons.cfm?DocID=8
Molecular Expressions: Science, Optics, & You http://microscopy.fsu.edu/optics
Monarch Watch http://monarchwatch.org/
NASA http://www.nasa.gov/home/index.html
NASA Quest http://www.quest.arc.nasa.gov/index.html
Ocean Explorer http://www.oceanexplorer.noaa.gov
Ocean Futures Online http://www.oceanfutures.org
Ocean Life http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/
explorer/oceanlife/index.htm
Oceanography http://www.onr.navy.mil/focus/ocean/
Patent & Trademark Office Kids Pages http://www.uspto.gov/go/kids/
Periodic Table http://web.buddyproject.org/web017/web017/
Pieces of Science http://www.sln.org/pieces/
Probe Sight http://probesight.concord.org/what/
template_section.htm
Science Experiments Web Sites http://www.eschoolnews.com/news/
showStory.cfm?ArticleID=3226
Science Explorations (Gr 3-10) http://teacher.scholastic.com/activities/explorations/
Science Explorer: An Exploratorium-At-Home Book www.exploratorium.edu/science_explorer
Science Fair Projects http://www.super-science-fair-projects.com/
Science Net Links http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/ 
Science, Magnets & You http://education.magnet.fsu.edu/curriculum/smy
Seismology http://www.geo.mtu.edu/UPSeis/index.html
Shape of Life http://www.pbs.org/kcet/shapeoflife/index.html
Sled Dogs http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/sleddogs/
Sodaplay http://www.sodaplay.com/
Spiders (also in Spanish) http://www.sedl.org/scimath/pasopartners/spiders/
welcome.html
Stormy Weather http://www.educationcentral.org/stormy/
TryScience www.tryscience.org
USGS: Science for a Changing World http://education.usgs.gov
Views of the Solar System http://www.solarviews.com
The Water Cycle (3-5) http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/lessons.cfm?DocID=393
Water, Water (3-5) http://illuminations.nctm.org/LessonDetail.aspx?ID=L289
Whodunnit: A Unit on Mysteries & Forensic Science for Elementary Gifted Students www.geocities.com/sseagraves/whodunnit.htm
Wild World – National Geographic http://www.nationalgeographic.com/wildworld/
Wonderful Waves (K-2) http://www.sciencenetlinks.com/Lessons.cfm?DocID=11

SOCIAL STUDIES

 
50 States http://www.50states.com
A Nation of Many Cultures http://www.pbs.org/americaresponds/
anationofcultures.html
Ancient Rome http://www.proteacher.com/090084.shtml
African Voices http://www.mnh.si.edu/africanvoices/
American Civil War http://homepages.dsu.edu/jankej/civilwar/civilwar.htm
American Civil War Homepage http://sunsite.utk.edu/civil-war/warweb.html
American Explorers http://memory.loc.gov/learn/community/
cc_exploration.php
Archaeology Channel (In “Lesson Plans, ones under “AskEric” are no longer there.) http://www.archaeologychannel.org/
Archiving Early America http://www.earlyamerica.com
BBC History http://www.bbc.co.uk/history/
Biography http://www.biography.com
Cave of Lascaux http://www.culture.gouv.fr/culture/arcnat/lascaux/en/
China Today http://www.chinatoday.com/
Civil Rights Institute  http://www.bcri.org/index.html 
Civil War Poetry & Music http://www.civilwarpoetry.org/
C-Span Classroom http://www.c-spanclassroom.org
Digital History (Gr K-12) http://www.digitalhistory.uh.edu/
EconEd Link http://www.econedlink.org/
Edsitement http://edsitement.neh.gov/
Ellis Island http://www.ellisisland.org/
Explore D. C. http://www.exploredc.org/index.php
Firstgov for Kids http://www.kids.gov
Frederick Douglass Papers http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/doughtml/doughome.html
Global Connections http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/globalconnections/
Histories of African Americans http://www.visionaryproject.com/NVLPmemberTier/index2.asp
Hangout NJ http://www.state.nj.us/hangout_nj/
History & Politics Out Loud http://www.hpol.org
History Channel http://www.history.com/
History Link http://www.historylink.org/
History Place – U.S. Civil War http://www.historyplace.com/civilwar/
History Wired http://historywired.si.edu/index.html
Kids Web Japan http://web-japan.org/kidsweb/index.html
King Tut
http://www.kingtut.org/
Learning Page http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/ndlpedu/start/index.html
Library of Congress http://www.loc.gov/
Library of Congress: American Memory http://memory.loc.gov/ammem/
Life After Auschwitz http://www.usc.edu/schools/college/vhi/
survivingauschwitz/vhfmain.htm
MapMachine http://plasma.nationalgeographic.com/mapmachine/
Mystic Places http://exn.ca/mysticplaces/default.asp
National Archives & Records Administration http://www.archives.gov/education/index.html
National Museum of the Native American http://www.nmai.si.edu/
National Gallery of Art – Ancient Egypt http://www.nga.gov/exhibitions/2002/egypt/index.htm
Native American History http://www.si.edu/resource/faq/nmai/start.htm
Native Americans http://falcon.jmu.edu/~ramseyil/native.htm
Our Documents www.ourdocuments.gov
Raid on Deerfield http://www.1704.deerfield.history.museum/home.do
Salem Witch Trials  http://etext.virginia.edu/salem/witchcraft/
Sled Dogs http://www.pbs.org/wnet/nature/sleddogs/
Smithsonian http://smithsonianeducation.org/
Supreme Court http://www.supremecourtus.gov
Time of the Lincolns http://www.pbs.org/wgbh/amex/lincolns/
Turning the Pages http://www.bl.uk/onlinegallery/ttp/ttpbooks.html
U.S. Mint http://www.usmint.gov/kids/flashIndex.cfm
Veterans History Project http://www.loc.gov/vets/
Wise Guide – U.S. History http://www.loc.gov/wiseguide/index-flash.html
Women’s History Month http://www.nwhp.org
Xpeditions http://www.nationalgeographic.com/xpeditions/

TEACHER RESOURCES

 
AOL@School http://www.aolatschool.com/
Awesome ClipArt for Teachers http://www.awesomeclipartforeducators.com/
Awesome Stories (Individual teachers must sign up, but it is free.) http://www.awesomestories.com/
Best WebQuests http://bestwebquests.com/default.asp 
Blue Web’n http://www.kn.pacbell.com/wired/bluewebn/
ClassZone http://www.classzone.com/
Copyright Sites  http://www.rcas.org/websites/copyright.htm
Digital Storytelling http://www.coe.uh.edu/digital-storytelling/
DiscoverySchool http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/
Early Childhood Pages http://www.montgomeryschoolsmd.org/curriculum/PEP/
teach.htm
Education World http://www.education-world.com/
George Lucas Educational Foundation http://www.edutopia.org/
IKnowthat http://www.iknowthat.com/com?COOK=
Interactive Library http://www.edinformatics.com/il/il.htm
Intereactive Websites for Primary Grades   http://www.suelebeau.com/priminteractive.htm
Introduction to Scoring Rubrics http://intranet.cps.k12.il.us/Assessments/
Ideas_and_Rubrics/ Intro_Scoring/intro_scoring.html
Knowledge Network Explorer http://www.kn.pacbell.com/index.html
Landmarks for Schools http://www.landmark-project.com/index.php
National Atlas of the U.S. http://www.nationalatlas.gov
NetSmartz Workshop (Internet Safety) http://www.netsmartz.org
Plagiarism Stoppers http://www.ncusd203.org/central/html/where
/plagiarism_stoppers.html
Power to Learn http://www.powertolearn.com/index.shtml
Public Broadcasting Station (PBS) http://www.pbs.org/
RubiStar Rubric Maker http://rubistar.4teachers.org/index.php
Smithsonian Education http://www.smithsonianeducation.org
Teacher’s Domain http://www.teachersdomain.org
TeachNet http://www.teachersnetwork.org/
Tools for Teachers http://4teachers.org
Virtual Field Trips http://www.eschoolnews.com/news/
showStory.cfm?ArticleID=3223
Webquests http://webquest.sdsu.edu/

WORLD LANGUAGE

 
Ancient Rome http://www.proteacher.com/090084.shtml
Edsitement, National Endowment for the Humanities http://edsitement.neh.gov
Foreign Language Lesson Plans http://www.csun.edu/~hcedu013/eslsp.html
Foreign Language Sites http://www.cortland.edu/flteach/flteach-res.html
French and Family http://edsitement.neh.gov/view_lesson_plan.asp?id=340
French Connections http://edsitement.neh.gov/view_lesson_plan.asp?id=279
Internet Activities for Foreign Language http://www.clta.net/lessons/
Kathy Schrock World Language http://school.discovery.com/schrockguide/world/
worldrw.html
Language Bank http://edsitement.neh.gov/view_lesson_plan.asp?id=316
Resources & Lesson Plans for World Languages (scroll down to see the links) http://www.cloudnet.com/~edrbsass/edwor.htm
Spiders (in Spanish) http://www.sedl.org/scimath/pasopartners/
spiders/welcome.html